Black Reel Awards: “The Harder They Fall” domina le nomine della 22esima edizione ottenendo 20 menzioni

Black Reel Awards: “The Harder They Fall” domina le nomine della 22esima edizione ottenendo 20 menzioni

Annunciate le nomine della 22esima edizione dei Black Reel Awards, i riconoscimenti assegnati dalla Foundation for the Augmentation of African – Americans in Film, i cui vincitori saranno svelati il 27 febbraio 2022.

A guidare le candidature il western di Jeymes Samuel “The Harder They Fall”, che batte ogni record, superando il precedente di “Black Panther”, aggiudicandosi ben 20 menzioni, a seguire “Passing” di Rebecca Hall, al suo debutto dietro la macchina da presa, con 13.


Outstanding Motion Picture

“The Harder They Fall”

Lawrence Bender, Shawn Carter, James Lassiter & Jeymes Samuel, producers

“King Richard”

Will Smith, Tim White & Trevor White, producers


Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker, Rebecca Hall & Margot Hand, producers

“The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Joel Coen, Robert Graf & Frances McDormand, producers

“West Side Story”

Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger & Kevin McCollum, producers

Outstanding Director 

Halle Berry | “Bruised”

Nia DaCosta | “Candyman”

Reinaldo Marcus Green | “King Richard”

Rebecca Hall | “Passing”

Jeymes Samuel | “The Harder They Fall”

Outstanding Actor

Mahershala Ali | “Swan Song”

Winston Duke | “Nine Days”

Jonathan Majors | “The Harder They Fall”

Will Smith | “King Richard”

Denzel Washington | “The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Outstanding Actress

Zazie Beetz | “The Harder They Fall”

Halle Berry | “Bruised”

Jennifer Hudson | “Respect”

Taylour Paige | “Zola”

Tessa Thompson | “Passing”

Outstanding Supporting Actor 

Colman Domingo | “Zola”

Idris Elba | “The Harder They Fall”

Andre Holland | “Passing”

LaKeith Stanfield | “The Harder They Fall”

Jeffrey Wright | “The French Dispatch”

Outstanding Supporting Actress 

Ariana DeBose | “West Side Story”

Aunjanue Ellis | “King Richard”

Regina King | “The Harder They Fall”

Rita Moreno | “West Side Story”

Ruth Negga | “Passing”

Outstanding Screenplay


Nia DaCosta, Jordan Peele & Win Rosenfeld

“The Harder They Fall”

Jeymes Samuel & Boaz Yakin

“In the Heights”

Quiara Alegria Hudes


Rebecca Hall


Janicza Bravo & Jeremy O. Harris

Outstanding Documentary


Jamila Wignot, director

“Citizen Ashe”

Rex Miller & Sam Pollard, directors

“My Name is Pauli Murray”

Julie Cohen & Betsy West, directors

“Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It”

Mariem Pérez Riera, director

“Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”

Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, director

Outstanding Foreign-Language Film

“African America” (South Africa)

Muzi Mthembu, director

“Bitter Sugar” (Tunisia)

Malik Isasis, director

“Faya Dayi” (Ethiopia)

Jessica Beshir, director

Outstanding Ensemble

“The Harder They Fall”

Victoria Thomas, casting director

“In the Heights”

Tiffany Little Canfield & Bernard Telsey, casting directors

“King Richard”

Rich Delia & Avy Kaufman, casting directors


Kim Ostroy & Laura Rosenthal, casting directors


Kim Coleman, casting director

Outstanding Voice Performance

Eric Andre | “The Mitchells vs. The Machines”
Marsai Martin | “Spirit Untamed”

Maya Rudolph | “Luca”

Maya Rudolph | “The Mitchells vs. The Machines”

Zoe Saldana | “Vivo”

Outstanding Score


Robert Aiki Aubrey, composer

“The Harder They Fall”

Jeymes Samuel, composer

“In the Heights”

Alex Lacamoire, Lin-Manuel Miranda & Bill Sherman, composers


Devonte Hynes, composer


Kris Bowers, composer

Outstanding Original Song

“Automatic Woman” (Bruised)

H.E.R., performer; Van Hunt, H.E.R. & Brittany Hazzard, writers 

“Be Alive” (King Richard)

Beyonce, performer; Beyoncé Knowles-Carter & DIXSON, writers

“Guns Go Bang” (The Harder They Fall)

Jay-Z & Kid Cudi, performers; Shawn “Jay-Z” Carter, Kid Cudi & Jeymes Samuel, writers

“The Harder They Fall” (The Harder They Fall)

Koffee, performer; Shawn “Jay-Z” Carter & Jeymes Samuel, writers

“Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” (Respect)

Jennifer Hudson, performer; Carole King, Jennifer Hudson & Jamie Hartman, writers

Outstanding Independent Film

“Concrete Cowboy”

Ricky Staub, director

“Nine Days”

Edson Oda, director

“Test Pattern”

Shatara Michelle Ford, director

“The Water Man”

David Oyelowo, director


Janicza Bravo, director

Outstanding Short Film

“54 Years Late”

Michele Wise Wright, director


Jordan Pitt, director

“The Door of Return”

Kokutekeleza Musebeni & Anna Zhukovets, directors


Jehnovah Carlisle, director

“The Snakes”

Michelle Beck, director

Outstanding Independent Documentary

“100 Years from Mississippi”

Tarabu Betserai Kirkland, director

“Big Chief, Black Hawk”

Jonathan Isaac Jackson, director

“I Still Breathe”

Alfred George Bailey, director

“Little Satchmo”

John Alexander, director

“Unzipped: An Autopsy of American Inequality”

Colin K. Gray, director

Outstanding Emerging Director 

Halle Berry | “Bruised”

Janicza Bravo | “Zola”

Rebecca Hall | “Passing”

Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson | “Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”

Jeymes Samuel | “The Harder They Fall”

Outstanding Breakthrough Performance, Male

Deon Cole | “The Harder They Fall”

Edi Gathegi | “The Harder They Fall”

Joshua Henry | “tick, tick…Boom!”

Caleb McLaughlin | “Concrete Cowboy”

Anthony Ramos | “In the Heights”

Outstanding Breakthrough Performance, Female

Danielle Deadwyler | “The Harder They Fall”

Ariana DeBose | “West Side Story”

Taylour Paige | “Zola”

Saniyya Sidney | “King Richard”

Demi Singleton | “King Richard”

Outstanding First Screenplay

“In The Heights”

Quiara Alegria Hudes


Rebecca Hall


Janicza Bravo & Jeremy O. Harris


“The Harder They Fall”

Mihai Malaimare Jr., cinematographer

“In the Heights”

Myron Kerstein, cinematographer


Edu Grau, cinematographer

“The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Bruno Delbonnel, cinematographer

“West Side Story”

Janusz Kaminski, cinematographer

Outstanding Costume Design

“Coming 2 America”

Ruth E. Carter, costume designer

“The Harder They Fall”

Antoinette Messam, costume designer


Marci Rodgers, costume designer

“The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Mary Zophres, costume designer

“West Side Story”

Paul Tazewell, costume designer

Outstanding Editing


Jacob Craycroft & Terilyn A. Shropshire, editors

“The Harder They Fall”

Tom Eagles, editor

“King Richard”

Pamela Martin, editor


Avril Beukes, editor


Joi McMillion, editor

Outstanding Production Design

“The Harder They Fall”

Martin Whist, production designer

“In the Heights”

Nelson Coates, production designer


Nora Mendis, production designer

“The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Stefan Dechant, production designer

“West Side Story”

Adam Stockhausen, production designer